If Obama can’t , who will ?

Police shoot black  people, followed by spontaneous protests, then followed by extensive media coverage , then after few months everything is back to normal. And again shooting & so on. Not to mention , this happens when we have an African-American president none other than Barack Obama whom I personally admired. I am reading his book “The Audacity of Hope” as I speak. I started reading it on 4th July to celebrate Independance day . I haven’t completed it yet.

In this book, he talks about race, politics, constitution, values . He shares his own interpretation of America , her past & future. He seems to have very good observation skill and of course his fluency of expressing the most complex thoughts in simple yet elegant manner which I am envy of .

This was 2006 , exactly 10 years ago. A lot has changed for him personally. He is on his way to complete the second term of presidency. His approval ratings are pretty good still today. He might win third term if it was allowed or may be not. I don’t live in America. So , I can’t judge him from 8000 miles. However if I look at what happening in America now & compare what he says in his book then I feel that something is not right. And I feel sad about it. This man had all the right ingredients to heal American Dream which was in ICU. He had intention. He had good heart. He had skills. He had charisma .

WHAT WENT WRONG?

I can only speculate but reader of my blog who are in vast majority Americans can share their views about this situation. I admit that he clearly said it is not going to easy to make a dramatic change the way America works. But still I was expecting a lot from such a great person. Or is he just an exceptional orator and nothing else? Is he actually good leader ? Did he deliver as per his potential ? Did he fail to live up to the expectation of masses? Was he more focussed on “Legacy” than “Lives” ?

I think , we shouldn’t rush to make him look bad or good before screening what actually he did & didn’t. He is a great speaker no doubt but is he really great president ? I leave this question open to you. Think about it.

Leave a Reply

