Internet & Laptop => My lifelong partners

Many people won’t believe me here in India as well as our western countries that I completed my engineering (Bachelor Degree) without laptop. Even I don’t. Somehow I won the gold medal from Electronics & Telecommunication department.  Without laptop, which is hard to believe because nowadays even kindergarten kids are using it.  The reason I had no laptop was our middle class background. I was on education loan. It covered tuition fee & hostel expenses. Laptop was luxury item. Only rich people could afford them. This was in 2006.

No laptop means no internet. If memory serves me right, my only presence on Internet was in the form of Orkut & Gmail. I used to think Facebook was white people thing. I was dead wrong. That means I was unaware of vast knowledge which resides in  Internet. I was a fish in fishtank.  I was naive young guy who had no idea about capabilities of Internet. However, I don’t myself because that is perk of being born in third world nation. You are always late as compared developed nation.

2010 I completed my graduation. Then after working 2 years in Software Industry, I decided to buy TV before Laptop. Can you believe it ? TV before Laptop ? Why ? I am glad you asked TV price= 8k and Laptop price = 30K . Oh yeah, money is honey.  After using it for 1 year, I realised TV is waste of time. I need Laptop, not want but need. So , in 2013 I dared to buy a cheap Laptop & Data Connection. The best investment I ever made or only investment I ever made.

This post is coming to you courtesy the same laptop & same internet connection. They instantly became part of me. I found myself immersed on Internet. Finally the fish had arrived in sea. My internet presence grew exponentially. My mind started expanding. My mind was no longer third world entity , it had transcended into Universal Force. It saw no limit.My body did but it didn’t. It was liberating experience. I soon realised how small I was, how little I knew and how much I can learn.

Fast forward today, I spent more money on Internet than my food , again perks of living in third world nation. Did I tell you how much I love being in this country ?? Did I ? I dare you ask me . Any way , Laptop + Internet are my partners in success story that is being written. Without them I am just a fish ready to die. With them , I am shark inching to rule the world. Eager to leave my long lasting legacy on this planet. With them, life has a meaning. Without them , I am just decaying flesh. I am really grateful to all those people who invented Laptop & Internet. They have no idea what it means to people like me.

Let me just modify Leonardo DiCaprio words. “Let’s not take this moment granted. Let’s not take opportunities for granted. Let’s not take all the privileges like Laptop , Internet etc. for granted. Look around , appreciate what you inherited by just being born in right family at right time. See what you got by default without even asking , without even fighting for it. This applies to me as well. Let’s not take this life granted”

Leave a Reply

